OTF Knife Laws

State

 Private OwnershipSaleOpen CarryConcealed CarryBalisong considered same thing?
US Federal Law Legal Illegal when sold over state lines or imported from outside the US Legal Legal Yes
Alabama Legal Legal Legal Legal  
Alaska Legal Legal Legal Legal  
Arizona Legal Legal Legal Legal if over 21 years old  
Arkansas Legal Legal Legal Legal  
California Legal Legal if blade is <2" Legal if blade is <2" Legal if blade is <2" Yes
Colorado Legal (Eff. 08-09-17 see 2017 Colorado SB 0008) Legal if blade surface is <3.5'' Legal if blade surface is <3.5'' Legal if blade surface is <3.5'' No
Connecticut Legal Legal Legal if blade is ≤1.5" Legal if blade is ≤1.5" No
Delaware Illegal Illegal Illegal Illegal No
District of Columbia Illegal Illegal Illegal Illegal No
Florida Legal Legal Legal Illegal (Legal with gun permit) N/A
Georgia Legal Legal (if over 18) Legal if blade is ≤5" (any length with gun permit) Legal if blade is ≤5" (any length with gun permit)  
Hawaii Illegal Illegal Illegal Illegal No
Idaho Legal Legal Legal Legal if blade is ≤4" No
Illinois Legal with valid FOID (Eff. 08-14-17) Legal with valid FOID Legal with valid FOID Legal with valid FOID No
Indiana Legal Legal Legal Legal No
Iowa Legal Legal Legal Legal if blade is ≤5" No
Kansas Legal Legal Legal Legal  
Kentucky Legal Legal Legal Illegal  
Louisiana Legal Legal Legal Permitted No
Maine Legal Legal Legal Illegal No
Maryland Legal Illegal Legal Illegal No
Massachusetts Legal Legal Illegal Illegal No
Michigan Legal Legal Legal Illegal No
Minnesota Illegal Illegal Illegal Illegal No
Mississippi Legal Legal Legal Illegal No
Missouri Legal Legal Legal Illegal (Legal with gun permit) Yes
Montana Illegal (ex. Curio or blade is ≤1.5") Illegal (ex. Curio or blade is ≤1.5") Illegal Illegal No
Nebraska Legal Legal Legal Legal if blade is ≤3.5"  
Nevada Legal Legal Legal Legal No
New Hampshire Legal Legal Legal Legal No
New Jersey Illegal Illegal Illegal Illegal No
New Mexico Illegal Illegal Illegal Illegal Yes
New York Illegal* Illegal* Illegal* Illegal* No
North Carolina Legal Legal Legal Illegal No
North Dakota Legal Legal Legal Illegal  
Ohio Legal Illegal Legal Illegal No
Oklahoma Legal Legal Legal Legal  
Oregon Legal Legal Legal Illegal Yes
Pennsylvania Illegal (ex. Curio) Illegal (ex. Curio) Illegal Illegal No
Rhode Island Legal Legal Legal Legal if blade is ≤3" No
South Carolina Legal Legal Legal Legal  
South Dakota Legal Legal Legal Legal  
Tennessee Legal Legal Legal Legal Yes
Texas Legal Legal Legal if blade is <5.5" Legal if blade is <5.5" Yes
Utah Legal Legal Legal Situational Yes
Vermont Legal Legal if blade is <3" Legal Legal No
Virginia Illegal Illegal Illegal Illegal No
Washington Illegal Illegal Illegal Illegal Yes
West Virginia Legal Legal Legal Legal if over 21 years old No
Wisconsin Legal Legal Legal Legal (if one legally can possess a firearm)  
Wyoming Legal Legal Legal Situational  

*New York's state law provides an exception for "Possession of a switchblade or gravity knife for use while hunting, trapping or fishing by a person carrying a valid license." Whether this affects sale or type of carry is unclear.

**Information cited from: “http://weaponlaws.wikidot.com/us-switchblade-laws”